Press Events Tracks Points

.: UCRA News :.

story by Steve Hixson

Wartburg, TN - (July 3rd, 2016) --- The Wartburg (TN) Speedway welcomed the United Crate Racing Alliance to it's 1/4 mile dirt track for the "Fire on the Mountain 40" Sunday night. A huge Independence weekend crowd witness reigning UCRA champion Jake Teague of Petross, TN pass local favorite Anthony White of nearby Clinton for $2,500 prize. The # 117 sponsored "C&C Trucking and Wade's Construction" Longhorn Chassis racer overtook race-long leader White with four laps remaining in the 40 lap affair that was only plagued by a few incidents. An early red flag appeared when the cars of John Ownbey (Saturday's UCRA winner in nearby Sweetwater, TN) and current UCRA points leader Rusty Ballenger were hooked together in a wreck that included Josh Henry. Robert Edwards reared a solo caution also to slow the field with just over a dozen laps remaining. Drew Kennedy crossed the finished line third but was disqualified in postrace inspection. White picked up a $300 bonus from Ray Barksdale Motors and Tires R Us for being the top performer at the weekend's two UCRA events. Chip Brindle's car shut down during the four-wide parade lap nullifying the Georgian to a last place finish. 

Official Finish

1. Jake Teague 2. Anthony White 3. Ross White 4. Pierce McCarter 5. Heath Hindman 6. Philip Thompson 7. Robert Gant 8. Kenny Kizzar 9. Robert Edwards 10. John Ownbey 11. Rusty Ballenger 12. Josh Henry 13. Chip Brindle DQ'd. Drew Kennedy

Car count:* 14 *Fast qualifier:
Jake Teague * Performance Masters Inc. Fast Time:* 13.315 seconds
Heat race winners: Jake Teague, Anthony White
Next race: August 5, Moulton (AL) Speedway $1,300 to-WIN & August 6, Moulton (AL) Speedway $2,500 to-WIN 

Earned Invitational to Fort Payne $5,000 to-WIN UCRA Finale Oct. 7 & 8th 2016
I-75 Raceway: John Ownbey, Phillip Thompson, Ryan Tims, William Overby and Andy Pickelsimer
Wartburg Speedway: Ross White, Robert Edwards, Josh Henry