Press Events Tracks Points

.: UCRA News :.

Brindle Sweeps UCRA Firecracker Nationals

The "Chipper" Chip Brindle of Dalton/Chatsworth, Georgia won his second consecutive United Crate Racing Alliance (UCRA) feature race of the weekend Saturday in Sweetwater, Tennessee at the Kyle Family's I-75 Raceway.  

Brindle piloting his Hill Motorsports "Beyea Custom Headers, Advance Tufting, FK Rod Ends, Garrison Automotive, BDR Loopers & Clips, Brindle Bros Auto Parts" 604 GM Performance Team 17 Extreme racecar completed a weekend sweep taking a victory Friday night (early Saturday morning) as well in nearby Crossville, TN.

Leading all but one lap Saturday at I-75 Raceway. Brindle, earned $2,500 for the second race in a row, which adds his name to the list of only three racers that have won back to back UCRA events during the alliances three year history. The Top 8 of 15 entrants were locked in as Brindle clocked quickest time in Performance Racing Engines Time Trials. Johnny Ridings won the $100 B-Main sponsored by Seiler Bros Inc. Jesse Lowe of Crossville, TN was runner up to Brindle both nights with the last lap of the weekend being the most dramatic. A last second stab at victory under the checkers, brought the crowd to their feet with a mere photo-finish.

"The way I was driving.... he had to do everything to try and get me, it was an awesome race," stated Brindle from I-75 Raceway's Victory Lane. Brindle stuck around post race to sign UCRA posters for the kids that don his #17 machine.

Fans were treated to a Fireworks Show to celebrate Independence Day at both track over the weekend that was originally slated for June 30th and July 1st, but postponed a week due to rain. In two weeks the UCRA Crate Late Models are back in action at the Fort Payne (AL) Motor Speedway on Saturday July 22. For more details visit the www.UCRAracing.com web-site. 

I-75 Raceway Finish
1. Chip Brindle 2. Jesse Lowe 3. Shane Tankersley 4. Jason Manley 5. Matt Henderson 6. Rusty Ballenger 7. Andy Picklesimer 8. Robert Gant 9. Anthony White 10. Barry Goodman 11. Johnny Ridings 12. Ruben Mayfield 13. Rod Carroll 14. Kyle Courtney 15. Perry Delaney