Press Events Tracks Points

.: UCRA Results :.

UCRA Points Leader Lowe Tames Tazewell Melvin Corum Memorial

Photo By Whitney Ferrell  

1Tazewell, TN (5/26/19) --- In front of a great crowd of racefans, Crossville’s Jesse Lowe scored the $3,001 United Championship Racing Alliance - UCRA victory at Tazewell Speedway in Sunday's “Melvin Corum Memorial”. Lowe finished 0.497 seconds ahead of Mack McCarter, with fourteen (14) of the 20 entrants completing the 40 lap event. The race honored lifelong racer Melvin Corum of Maynardville, Tenn., who died in September. Lowe powered into the lead from the “Cat-Birds Seat” (outside front row), which was dominant all event long, driving his recently darkened “5J Motorsports / CVR  “Bennett Heating & Cooling, Workout Anytime, Gondola Pizza & Steakhouse and Baisley’s Body Shop” sponsored machine. Lowe would hold back challenges from both the Fast Qualifier neighbor Brandon Williams and Mack McCarter of Seymour, TN for the triumph, his third with the UCRA. Entering the event, Lowe held a two points lead for the $16,000 National Championship over Michael Courtney, whom finished outside the Top 10 Sunday.

Polesitter Heath Alvey of Dandridge, TN beat FQ’er Williams in the first heat but would fall quickly from the pole at the start of the feature race. Knoxville racers John Llewellyn and Jason Trammell rounded out the Top 5 finishers. Alabamian Kasey Hall had a stout run, making his Tazewell Speedway debut with the UCRA finishing 8th of the touring regulars, narrowing his points margin behind Courtney. Leading rookie contender Seth Wimpey of Blue Ridge, Georgia was 9th, with “The Mayor” of Graysville Mtn, TN Kenny Kizzar holding on to a Top 10. “Hot Rod” Carroll had a rough run, finishing 14th overall. UCRA reingning / defending National Champion Jimmy Elliott was entered but mechanical problems kept the Cleveland, TN racer out of action the entire night.

Official Results
1. Jesse Lowe 2. Mack McCarter 3. Brandon Williams 4. John Llewellyn 5. Jason Trammell 6. Heath Alvey 7. Phillip Thompson 8. Kasey Hall 9. Seth Wimpey 10. Kenny Kizzar 11. Michael Courtney 12. Jeff Neubert 13. Tyler Smith 14. Rod Carroll 15. Jordon Horton 16. Adam Tolliver 17. Steve Smith 18. Michael Smith DNS Jimmy Elliott and Bradley Strong