Press Events Tracks Points

UCRA 2019 Championship Luncheon Saturday, January 18th, I-24 Jasper, TN

The United Championship Racing Alliance - UCRA announced today via its web-site (UCRAracing.com) that the 2019 National Points Championship Awards Luncheon will take place Saturday Jan. 18, 2020, at the Western Sizzlin’ Steakhouse Restaurant in Jasper, Tennessee off I-24 at Exit 155 at 1PM CST/2PM EST.

After lunch, the posted points awards will be passed out to the Top contenders of 2019’s races. The $5.000 top prize will be going to Crossville racer Jesse Lowe whom "hit for the cycle" garnered eight Top Five finishes last season, holding off, 2018 Rookie of the Year Michael Courtney of Knoxville, for the championship. Lowe only finished outside the Top 5 once the entire season en-route to his first National Points Championship 

Kenny Kizzar of Sale Creek, Tn. will be honored as the UCRA second runner up. Kenny’s been a mainstay with the UCRA since its inception in 2015 and has finished third overall in the points for the past two seasons. Georgia's Seth Wimpey won the $1,000 Rookie of the Year title and like the champion receives a custom Hoosier Racing Tire jacket from Hoosier Tire South. Alabama's Rod Carroll finished fifth in the points and will be honored as well

In 2019 only one racer earned multiple victories on the tour of nine events. Michael Courtney chased points champion Jesse Lowe the entire season, winning back to back August UCRA Main Events. Along with Lowe and Wimpey (whom took the season opening "Bama Brawl" in March) Sam Seawright (AL), Cory Hedgecock (TN), J.T. Seawright (AL), Jason Welshan (TN) and Zach Sise (TN) all picked up victories that posted nearly $90,000 cash purse prize totals for the season. The UCRA also produced nine different Fast Qualifiers with no repeaters at their 2019 events. 

The 602/Sportsman Six Race Mini Series Championship held at Fort Payne (AL) Motor Speedway was won by local racer David Harwood. Harwood will receive the lions share of the $2,000 championship points fund. Jessie Hughes and Danny Whitten will also receive awards finishing second and third respectfully.  

The inaugural UCRA Champion is Jake Teague from Petross, Tennessee whom claimed the top honor in 2015. Rusty Ballenger of Knoxville won back to back championships in 2016 and 2017, while Jimmy Elliott of Cleveland, TN won the 2018 title. 

The 2020 season will again hosts tracks, within a 500 mile radius of its home-base of Cedartown, Georgia. At the season finale event in November it was announced that Red Line Synthetic Oil is joining the UCRA family presenting the 2020 season. Commitment dates for next year have already been booked for the 2nd annual “Bama Brawl” at Fort Payne (AL) Motor Speedway (2/22 & 23) and three UCRA exclusive events for the Tazewell (TN) Speedway on the UCRAracing.com web-site.

UCRA events will be based on estimated purses, between $2,000 and $5,000 to-win. The UCRA strives to produce a professional travelling tour for economic 604/Crate Late Model and 602/Sportsman racing for racers, fans and promoters to enjoy and thrive within. The UCRA would like to express their gratitude to the Ford/Ingram family at Fort Payne Motor Speedway, the Kyle family at I-75 Raceway, the Hall family at Tazewell Speedway, the Eavenson family at the Blue Ridge Motorsports Park and all their friends and staff that help make our events a success in 2019. Production of the UCRA is thankful in part to; Tim Willingham. Stanley Smith, Chris Ragan, Candice McCue, Steve Hixson and Ben Shelton with MSR Mafia marketing. 

The UCRA is a sanctioning body for 604/Crate Late Model and 602/Sportsman dirt racing and all rights and rules thereof are available to be adhered to on behalf of the United Championship Racing Alliance ©2019/20 online at UCRAracing.com.