Press Events Tracks Points

Josh Collins Wins UCRA Tazewell Jim Arnwine Memorial

1TAZEWELL, Tenn. (04/02/22) --- Saturday night the Tazewell Speedway opened the 2022 season with the Jim Arnwine Memorial 50 hosted by the United Championship Racing Alliance presented by Red Line Synthetic Oil. Eighteen 604/Crate Late Model raceteams entered vying for over $11,000 in posted prize monies, all seeking the $3,011 first place check. Hometown racer Clyde Overholt set fast time of 12:088 seconds around Gary Hall's Ultra-High Banked 1/3 mile clay oval, earning the $100 bonus from Gresham Racing Parts of Georgia. Heat races saw Josh Collins (#144) of Strawberry Plains, TN and Aaron Guinn of Russellville earn front row starting positions for the 50 lap feature. Pole sitter Josh Collins had to play catch-up to early race leader Guinn and did so with the help of backmarker traffic. Travis Fultz of Harrogate, would run second to Collins with the series Reining Defending Champion Kenny Kizzar of Sale Creek chasing the top two. Kizzar would settle for the final podium position at the checkers and unofficially takes the points lead from rookie contender Brent Rhodes. Collins takes third in the points standings unofficially with his victory Saturday night. Fultz will sit fourth in UCRA points with Alabama's Kasey Hall dropping to fifth. 

Knoxville racers Heath Alvey and Jordan Horton rounded out the top five finishers Saturday night at the Taz. The UCRA takes off two weekends before returning to action Saturday night, April 23rd at Sweetwater's I-75 Raceway halfway between Chattanooga and Knoxville for the annual Spring-Loaded 40 event paying $2,500 to win.

For more information about the UCRA visit UCRAracing.com or follow the series on its Facebook page. 

Josh Collins, Travis Fultz, Kenny Kizzar, Heath Alvey, Jordan Horton, Jacob Owens, Brent Rhodes, Bradley Strong, Aaron Guinn, Mathew Smith, Chris Rains, Jason Trammell, Michael Smith, Brian Smith, Steve Smith, Clyde Overholt.