Press Events Tracks Points
.: Archives :.
May 24, 2020 - Smith Disqualified After He Dominates UCRA Tazewell Season Opener; Melvin Corum Memorial Victory to Trammell
1 Kentuckian Brian Smith has a firm grasp on racing Tazewell Speedway and Sunday night the Late Model ace showed that prowess, when he dominated the 40 lap United Championship Racing Alliance feature. Unfortunately for Smith he was disqualified from the victory during post race inspections, which handed the win to Jason Trammell (# 91) of Knoxville and his "Hatmaker Holdings, CharlieBrownCo. Screen Printing and Embroidery Services,  R&J Sign Co, Lake City Tire, Discount Auto Parts, Dents R US, Hoosier Tire South, Stealth Racing Carburetors, Bryan King Roofing, Fastlane Signs & Graphics, Xs Power, Integra Shocks and Vic Hill Racing Engines" race team. <READ MORE>

May 17, 2020 - Tazewell UCRA Season Opener Details for Sunday, May 24th... Fans Welcome
1Sunday night May 24th the 2nd Annual Melvin Corum Memorial will be contested at Tazewell Speedway in front of fans for the first time in 2020, due to the COVID19 pandemic.

The region's best United Championship Racing Alliance - UCRA 604/Crate Late Model hot shoes will battle it out in a 40 lap feature paying $3,001 to win as presented by Red Line Synthetic Oil. Also in the racing card: Sportsman, Classic Car, Street Stock and 4 Cylinder. Plus we'll have a huge Fireworks Display.

Pit gates will swing open at 4:00 EST and the Grandstands will open at 5:00 EST. General admission will be $15 with kids nine and under admitted free. Pit admission will be $30, pit admission for kids 12 and under will be $15. All minor under the age of 18 must have a signed release waiver before entering the pit area. Minor release forms will be available at both ticket booths.

Alabama's Sam Seawright leads 2018 UCRA Champion Jimmy Elliott of Cleveland, TN in the points. Jason Cardwell and Kyle Courtney (both of Knoxville), and Kasey Hall of Alabama are contenders for the possibility $20,000 points fund this season. Tennesseans Cory Hedgecock and Kenny Kizzar and 2019 Rookie of the Year Seth Wimpey of Georgia are also in contention.

Fans are encouraged to cooperate with Social Distancing protocols while at the track Sunday.

May 11, 2020 - Fans Return to Tazewell Speedway UCRA 604/Crate Melvin Corum Memorial Set for Sunday, May 24th
1Race fans will rejoice (in the grandstands) as Gary Hall of Tazewell Speedway North of Knoxville has been cleared by local authorities to host the United Championship Racing Alliance - UCRA event presented by Red Line Synthetic Oil, Sunday night May 24th.

The Melvin Corum 40 is becoming an annual event for the 604/Crate series that has hosted races around the South since 2015. Last year Crossville's Jesse Lowe picked up the $3,001 victory en route to his first National Points Title worth $5,000 from the UCRA. Mack McCarter, Brandon Williams and local racers John Llewellyn and Jason Trammell had Top 5 runs against some top racers including Georgia's Seth Wimpey and fellow Tennesseans Michael Courtney and Kenny Kizzar. The over $11,000 total purse will draw a top-notch field of competitors to the Ultra-High Banked Dirt Track on Sunday Memorial Day weekend. Currently young Sam Seawright (# 16) of Alabama leads the 2020 UCRA National Points standings over Jimmy Elliott (Cleveland), Jason Cardwell and Kyle Courtney (both from Knoxville) and Kasey Hall of Alabama.

Gates will open at 5PM EST, with racing at 7PM. Fans will be asked to keep in mind Social Distancing while at the track and some other CDC guidelines will take precedent on regular amenities at the track.